School Nurse of the Year 2011 Celebration

Delaware School Nurse of the Year (SNOY) celebration took place on October 9, 2011 at the Chesapeake Inn. Loretta Newsom school nurse at the Alfred G. Waters Middle School in the Appoquinimink School District is the 2011-2012 School Nurse of the Year. Nurse Newsom has been a school nurse for 10 years and has contributed to the profession of school nursing on a local, state, and national level. Mrs. Newsom has developed and facilitated numerous health projects that include increase movement in school, after-school health clubs, and awareness/fund raising for students with special health care needs. Loretta Newsom is a former Delaware School Nurse Association President and has advocated for all school nurses in regards to professional credentials and salaries.

The SNOY celebration was attended by school nurses state-wide, legislators, and members of Loretta’s family. Many tributes and SNOY traditions were shared. Beth Light DSNA President and Pat Guilday DSNA President Elect and former SNOY shared the legacy of the DSNA membership and SNOY traditions. DSNA presented Loretta with a gift to the National Association of School Nurses Annual Conference which will take place in San Francisco in June 2012. Senator Carper, Senator Hall-Long, and Representative Walker, delivered proclamations from the Governor, the Senate, and the House of Representatives.

Loretta stated “life is about service and stepping up when needed.” School nursing is truly a profession of service to students, families, and communities. The School Nurse of the Year event was a perfect venue to display the profession of school nursing.